January 23, 2017 | Updated: October 26, 2018

Architecture awards

The jury for the 10th PORCELANOSA Group Awards: Ortiz-Leon Architects

The registration for participating in the tenth PORCELANOSA Architecture and Interior Design Awards is open, and we begin with a review of those who will be the members of the jury for this 2017 contest.

Ortiz-Leon Architects is a renowned architectural studio formed by Iñigo Ortiz de Tortosa and Enrique Leon Garcia. The former began his career in 1984 and since then he has become a national and international architecture benchmark, with more than one million square metres in housing and office project development. It is an office that is internationally recognised, and one that has many famous projects under its belt after more than 30 years’ work. Among those that stand out are the Olympic Tower in Barcelona, the Iberdrola Tower in Bilbao, the new Scottish Power headquarters in Glasgow or the Metro Plaza in Xian. They all share great prestige and worldwide recognition.

Ortiz-Leon Architects, with offices in Madrid and Shanghai, is also recognized for its commitment to sustainable architecture, as well as being the first studio in Spain to obtain the LEED certificate for one of its buildings: The Iberdrola Tower in Bilbao. Moreover, it is the Spanish studio with the most buildings regarding their height and it holds a prominent position within the sector as specialists in the design of social headquarters for large companies.

At international level, it has worked in collaboration with prestigious studios such as Pelli & Clark or Herzog & de Meuron, carrying out projects in European countries such as Switzerland and the United Kingdom, and in the USA as well. Ortiz-Leon Architects has also been awarded multiple prizes, such as the ASPRIMA-SIMA Awards, the COAM Architecture and Urbanism Award, or the Sanitas Head Office First Prize or the Iberia Head Office contests, among many others.

At the 10th PORCELANOSA Architecture and Interior Design Awards, Ortiz-Leon Architects will share its place on the jury with Sandra Tarruella, from the Tarruella Trenchs Studio; Oscar Lucien from Maison Numero 20 Rive Gauche and Tim Bowder-Ridger, from Conran + Partners.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *