April 28, 2023 | Updated: May 3, 2023


An exceptional jury for the 14th Porcelanosa Awards

Architects Alfonso Olalquiaga, Alejandro Bueso-Inchausti, Diego Escario, Juan Carlos Baumgartner and Malika Junaid will be responsible for evaluating the proposals received in the three categories

There are only twelve days left to find out the winning projects of the Porcelanosa Awards. These special awards, presented as part of the multinational's 50th anniversary, will feature this year an international jury made up of architects Alejandro Bueso-Inchausti (Spain), Malika Junaid (USA), Diego Escario (Spain), Juan Carlos Baumgartner (Mexico) and Alfonso Olalquiaga (Spain). All of them have reviewed the different proposals to select the finalists in the Future Design and Design of the Year categories.

The Porcelanosa Awards, which recognise students and professionals in architecture, interior design and real estate development, have as their primary purpose to promote creativity among new and future professionals, encourage the promotion and exposure of their work and innovate in the area of architecture.

In the Future Design section, professionals and students from all over the world have prepared their projects, in which they propose a sustainable space of their choosing. The only requirement in this category is that the design be environmentally friendly thanks to the use of materials with sustainable attributes, the inclusion of systems that ensure energy efficiency, and other elements that guarantee the durability and circularity of the different components.

In the Design of the Year category, the jury members evaluated the architectural and constructive value of all those projects carried out using PORCELANOSA Group materials between January 2022 and March 2023 (more information in the published rules of the 14th Porcelanosa Awards).

Jury of the 14th Porcelanosa Awards

Alejandro Bueso-Inchausti (Bueso-Inchausti & Rein Arquitectos)

He received his degree in architecture from ETSAM in 1982 and a Master's in Real Estate from the Polytechnic University of Madrid, where he teaches in the MDI Master's programme. In 1983, he founded the studio Bueso-Inchausti & Rein Arquitectos, together with Pablo Rein and his brother Jorge.

The studio, which is celebrating its 40th anniversary this year, views architecture as the formal expression of function. This leading firm in prime residential architecture has developed numerous projects in Spain, Romania and the USA, and thanks to which he has received numerous recognitions, including from the College of Architects of Madrid, the Madrid City Council, the Association of Property Developers of Madrid (ASPRIMA-SIMA), the Mies van der Rohe Foundation, the company Technal, NAN magazine and from the international organisations Loop Design Award, BUILD and Architecture MasterPrize.

Malika Junaid (M●Designs Architects)

Founder and Director of the award-winning architecture studio in Silicon Valley, M●Designs Architects, Malika Junaid graduated from Louisiana State University with a degree in architecture. In addition to her professional work, she is known for her commitment to and support of various worthy causes in American society.

Her work managing M●Designs Architects has allowed the studio to lift numerous awards, such as META Remodeling from NARI (National Association of the Remodeling Industry), the World Architecture & Design Award and 50-under-50 disruptors.

Diego Escario (Cano y Escario Arquitectura)

Diego Escario has an architecture degree from the Architecture School at the Polytechnic University of Madrid, specialising in Building. In 1988, he founded the Cano and Escario Arquitectura studio with Benjamín Cano. With more than 30 years of experience, the studio is defined by its "creativity without compromising the architectural project as an expressive medium".

Cano y Escario Arquitectura's work is defined by using a particularly resounding, kind, inclusive and personal architectural language.

Juan Carlos Baumgartner (spAce)

Juan Carlos Baumgartner is a Mexican architect who is known for his commitment to humanising spaces and the practice of neuroarchitecture. He is a founding partner of the spAce architecture firm, which has designed over 5 million square metres, and his work is characterised by its connection with ecology and the development of sustainable projects.

The most emblematic projects by Juan Carlos Baumgartner include the EFFIZIA, for which he received the MIPIM Architectural Review Future Projects Awards, the Chapultepec Polanco Tower, the Moras 850 project (LEEDS Gold certified) and the offices of MSN Mexico.

Alfonso Olalquiaga (Olalquiaga Arquitectos)

Alfonso Olalquiaga Bescós es arquitecto por la ETS de Arquitectura de Madrid y Master en Proyectos Arquitectónicos Avanzados por la misma universidad.
En el ámbito académico ha sido profesor de proyectos en la Universidad Alfonso X El Sabio, y ha impartido conferencias y participado en seminarios, congresos y workshops en la ETS de Arquitectura de Madrid, la ETS de Arquitectura de Barcelona, la Universidad Camilo José Cela de Madrid, la Fundación COAM, y el Museo de Arquitectura de Moscú. Así mismo ha publicado El libro de las curvas para la Fundación Esteyco.

En el campo profesional codirige el estudio Olalquiaga Arquitectos, con sede en Madrid, desarrollando proyectos de edificación, urbanismo y diseño interior, tanto en el sector público como en el privado. Su trabajo ha sido publicado y premiado en el ámbito nacional e internacional, destacando el premio en la XIII Bienal Española de Arquitectura y Urbanismo, el premio COAM, y el premio ASPRIMA.

Hotel Mandarin Oriental Ritz, an enchanting setting

The Hotel Mandarín Oriental Ritz is a palace from the Belle Époque, opened in 1910 by King Alfonso XIII, and selected to host the ceremony for the 14th Porcelanosa Awards, which will be held on 10 May.

After a three-year renovation led by the Rafael de La-Hoz architecture studio and Parisian designers Gilles & Boissier, the Hotel Mandarin Oriental Ritz is reopening its doors under new management and with three-Michelin-star chef Quique Dacosta heading up its five restaurants.

A spectacular setting that is synonymous with excellence and good taste and that, together with the sponsorship of Banco Santander and the collaboration of Deloitte and Seguros Catalana Occidente, will make a new edition of the Porcelanosa Awards possible.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *